Upcoming…

…is my aunt’s birthday. It’s on Monday, November 16. She’s turning fifty this year, so her daughters and my sister, mom, and I are planning great things for her special day. We have this whole thing planned out. Sort of. Initially, on the day of her birthday, her, I guess boyfriend, is to say that she dress up and they would go out to dinner (heads up: that’s not the goal of her birthday). By this time, one of her two daughters would be at my house setting up the area because we’re celebrating at my house, not theirs. After this, her other daughter would say, “Oh, Mom, I gotta pick up (this IS NOT the real name) Bob at the other house.” And then my aunt would be all dressed up and come over to my house because to say bye before she leaves for her “date”. But then.. AHA we would all surprise her with food and everything…. Gotta love the food. Anyways, so she would be all surprised and say “Whaaaaat??” Then we would all say “Happy Birthday!!!”

I’m still hoping that would happen, but I’m freaking out. There are assigned duties that we all have to do. First off, my mom is to cook all the dishes that my aunt likes, Filipino dishes to be precise. Myself and “Bob” are to make a sign saying “happy birthday” (No, it won’t just be that; that would be totally lame.) with super cool stuff painted on there. It’s gonna look (hopefully cool.) “Bob’s” sister, Pinkie (again, not the real name.) would be baking a four layer cake, and I would be doing a cream cheese frosting to apply with the cake. It’s gonna look “bomb.com”. The cake would be pink velvet, since we believe that red velvet is too oftenly used, you know? Anyways, my sister and “Bob” would be making a slideshow and combined video messages for the birthday girl. Hopefully everything works out.

Honestly, at this point, my aunt is mad. This is because her boyfriend offered to drink wine for her birthday, but she despises wine. From this, she firmly believes that he does not care about her birthday, and it doesn’t help with the fact that he’ll be away all of Thanksgiving break. Therefore, she claims that she will be cooking for herself and all of us would be going to celebrate at her house.

I’m hoping what we have for her will work.

Until then,

-R

Leave a comment